Discover Why the Tradition HKFC 10s is the “World’s Best 10s”

HKFC 10s - World's Best 10s

The Tradition HKFC 10s, also known as the “World’s Best 10s,” has earned its title by consistently attracting top-tier rugby players from more than 20 countries since its inception in 1986. Hundreds of past, present, and future international rugby stars have played in the tournament, including seven of the All Blacks players who won the 2015 Rugby World Cup in England.

A Star-Studded History

The Tradition HKFC 10s has proven time and again that it’s a hotspot for exceptional rugby talent. Here’s a brief look at some of the notable players and teams throughout the tournament’s history:

The Early Years (1986-1995)

Before the dawn of professional rugby in 1995, England was a major supplier of star power to the HKFC 10s. English rugby stars like Jeff Probyn, Wade Dooley, Paul Ackford, Peter Winterbottom, Mickey Skinner, Will Carling, Jeremy Guscott, and Rory Underwood all graced the tournament.

Even in these early years, other countries had notable representation, such as Australia’s Warblers and Belfast RFC with New Zealand’s Wayne Smith and Bill Bush.

The Middle Years (1996-2005)

Following rugby’s professionalization in 1995, the Tradition HKFC 10s continued to attract world-class players from around the globe. During this period, an influx of New Zealand internationals and future All Blacks entered the HKFC 10s scene. Australia also made consistent contributions with star players, such as the Ella brothers, Roger Gould, Tom Lawton, Chris Roche, Tony Melrose, David Carter, Lloyd Walker, Matthew Burke, and a young Nathan Grey.

Recent Years (2006-2019)

In modern times, the Tradition HKFC 10s has welcomed even more rugby superstars. 1999 Rugby World Cup winners Joe Roff, Toutai Kefu, and Matt Cockbain competed in 2006, and Jonah Lomu, Rugby World Cup’s record try scorer, joined the ranks in 2007.

Other recent notable appearances include Brian Lima (2008), Israel Dagg and Charlie Faumuina (2010), and rugby legend Waisale Serevi (2010). Additionally, the BGC Asia Pacific Dragons, featuring rugby legends David Campese, George Gregan, Justin Marshall, and Christian Cullen, shone in 2011.

Several stars have also made appearances in more recent years, such as Mils Muliaina (2012), Marty Holah and Nehe Milner-Skudder (2013), Haiti Ebner (2016), and Wendell Sailor and Stephen Hoiles (2017 and 2018).

A Showcase for Up-and-Coming Talent

The Tradition HKFC 10s has a knack for “uncovering the stars of tomorrow.” Some of the tournament’s most memorable breakout appearances include Jerome Kaino and Conrad Smith (2003), Beauden Barrett (2010), Nehe Milner-Skudder (2014), and Nasoni Roko (2018).

Historic Women’s Tournament Introduced at HKFC 10s

Celebrating its 35th year, the HKFC 10s welcomed a significant addition with its first women’s tournament, reflecting a progressive stride in the sport. Five teams participated, carving out their place in the storied tradition of the event.

England rugby legend Rochelle “Rocky” Clark coached the RKS Legal Samurai and took on an ambassador role, advocating for the thriving growth within women’s rugby. Together with Tamara Taylor and Heather Fisher, their presence off the field provided invaluable insight and support to the emerging talent.

With a history rich in exceptional talent, the Tradition HKFC 10s has consistently lived up to its reputation as the “World’s Best 10s.” The addition of the women’s competition further solidifies its commitment to showcasing diverse talent and sets a promising stage for future generations. Enthusiasts and aspiring stars are already anticipating the exciting prospects and novel chapters the tournament will unfurl in the years to come.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *